ShoWest: Zac Efron Talks ‘Footloose’, Rachel McAdams Wins

Taking home the prize for Breakthrough Performer of the Year at ShoWest, Zac Efron took it upon himself to explain exactly why he had chosen to back out of starring in the Footloose remake.

“I’m sure Footloose would have been a huge challenge, but the actors that I love and the actors that work really hard in this industry are always shaking things up, trying new genres, acquiring new skill sets. That’s what’s always going to appeal to me: the unknown,” the High School Musical star told Entertainment Weekly. No big surprises there.

Rachel McAdams, who stars in State of Play, was awarded Female Star of the Year and Dennis Quaid was her male counterpart, winning Male Star of the Year.

But before you get too excited over the recognition they received, keep in mind that Sorority Row cast mates Audrina Patridge and Rumer Willis were presented with the Stars of Tomorrow awards. So that kind of makes it sound like you can probably find these trophies in the 99 cent store discount bin.

Gallery Info:  Zac Efron, Billy Bush, Chris Pine, Michael Bay, Dennis Quaid, Rachel McAdams, Bradley Cooper, Sienna Miller, Michael Caine, Rumer Willis, Briana Evigan, Jamie Chung, Margo Harshman, Audrina Patridge, Leah Pipes and Zack Snyder at the ShoWest 2009 Awards ceremony.