‘Precious’ Wins Big At 2010 Independent Spirit Awards

As they start rolling out the carpet for the Oscars, it looks like Precious is going in with some steam.  The intense indie walked away with a ton of winged statues yesterday at at the Live 25th Annual Independent Spirit Awards held in downtown Los Angeles, including Best Feature and Best First Screenplay. 

Lee Daniels walked away with Best Director, the unconventional Mo’Nique took home Best Supporting Female, and  Gabourey Sidibe accepted her Best Female Lead award with an adorable “It has wings, yay!”. Daniels was a little more uninhibited when the cast came onstage to accept the Best Feature Award saying “Look at all these precious motherf–kers!” and “Kathryn Bigelow’s not here tonight–I am!!”

The Hurt Locker, in fact, didn’t establish itself at the awards last night, while (500) Days of Summer took Best Screenplay, A Serious Man won Best Cinematrography, and Jeff Bridges accepted the Best Male Lead for Crazy Heart with a fantastic “This is really going to tie the room together, baby!” nod to the Dude.

An Education won Best Foreign Film and a very surprised Woody Harrelson took home Best Spporting Male for his work in The Messenger.

The full list of winners is after the jump.

Check out all of our 2010 Independent Spirit Awards coverage here!
Best Feature: Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by SapphireBest Director: Lee Daniels, PreciousBest Male Lead: Jeff Bridges, Crazy HeartBest Female Lead: Gabourey Sidibe, PreciousBest Supporting Male: Woody Harrelson, The MessengerBest Supporting Female: Mo’Nique, PreciousBest First Feature: Crazy HeartBest Screenplay: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, (500) Days of SummerBest First Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher, PreciousBest Cinematography: A Serious ManRobert Altman Award: A Serious ManBest Documentary: Anvil! The Story of AnvilBest Foreign Film: An EducationJohn Cassavetes Award: HumpdayAcura Someone to Watch Award: Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Easier With PracticeChaz & Roger Ebert: Truer Than Fiction Award: Bill Ross and Turner Ross, 45365Piaget Producers Award: Karin Chien, The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa