Miranda Kerr, Gerard Butler, Ashley Greene & More Celebrate The 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards [PHOTOS]

It was a night of fashion and awards at Lincoln Center in New York City last night (June 6). The 2011 CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Fashion Awards took place and the fashion was as diverse as the attendees. Click the read more link below for a full list of winners.

The handsome Anderson Cooper, wearing Ralph Lauren, was the host for the event. Jessica Alba covered her baby bump in Diane von Furstenberg, while Ashley Greene wore some hot pink Michael Kors. Kirsten Dunst wore a Patrik Ervell tuxedo, and Alessandra Ambrosio was red hot in Prabal Gurung.

PHOTOS: The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards Red Carpet

Lady Gaga won the Fashion Icon Award and she got a little teary-eyed during her speech. She talked about how important fashion was in her life as a pathway to self-discovery, artistry and confidence. As a teenager, she’d save her money to buy vintage Thierry Mugler from a neighborhood thrift shop, checking in with the salesman regularly to make sure her favorite pieces hadn’t sold while she was raising the cash. She planned her outfits for Friday night parties as if she was going to the Oscars, she said.

“As much as this award means to me personally … I just want you to know how much this means to young Americans,” Gaga said.

Launch the gallery to check out all the fashions and let us know who you think was the best and worst dressed by tweeting us at @socialitelife or posting to our Facebook page. Click the read more link below to see the full list of winners.

Womenswear Designer of the Year Winner: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler.

Accessory Designer of the Year Winner: Alexander Wang.

Swarovski Award for Womenswear Winner: Prabal Gurung.

Swarovski Award for Menswear Winner: Robert Gellar.

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design Winner: Eddie Borgo.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Marc Jacobs

The Fashion Icon Award Winner: Lady Gaga

The International Award: Phoebe Philo of Céline