‘American Idol’ Top 12 Surprise…Lucky Number 13

What a twist! Last night, on American Idol, the judges announced the names of the final 12 along with the news that this year, it would be a baker’s dozen.

The 13th contestant continuing into the next round was named in a surprising changing up of the rules. American Idol hopeful Anoop Desai was stunned at the news that because of his enthusiastic personality, he would be staying in the competition along with twelve other reality television competitors.

Anoop Desai, Jasmine Murray, Megan Corkrey and Matt Giraud joined previously picked finalists Kris Allen, Danny Gokey, Alexis Grace, Allison Iraheta, Adam Lambert, Scott MacIntyre, Jorge Nunez, Lil Rounds and Michael Sarver. Well, I know cupcakes are always better in 13’s so maybe it goes the same for AI contestants.

Gallery Info: Paula Abdul, Sharon Osbourne, Anoop Desai, Adam Lambert, Seth MacFarlane, Lil Rounds, Kris Allen, Alexis Grace, Justin Guarini, Jack Osbourne, Megan Corkrey, Annie Wersching, Katrina Darrell, Allison Iraheta, Jasmine Murray, Matt Giraud, Kara DioGaurdi, Cat Deeley, Kimberley Caldwell, John Noble, Jane Lynch, Scott MacIntyre, Danny Gokey, Michael Sarver and Jorge Nunez at the American Idol Top 13 Party in LA.